Pulmonary Hypertension Unit

Pulmonary Hypertension Association Ireland

PHA Ireland Banner

Prof Sean Gaine receives international award

In June this year Prof Sean Gaine, consultant Respiratory Physician travelled to the United States to receive the Samuel P. Asper Award for Achievement in Advancing International Medical Education from the Johns Hopkins Medical and Surgical Association. The award was presented by Dr Paul Rothman the Dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine. The presentation cited Prof Gaine’s establishment of the National Pulmonary Hypertension Unit at the Mater Misericordiae University Hospital.

The Asper Award was established in honour of the vision of the late Samuel P. Asper, M.D. ’40. A renowned Hopkins educator and physician, he served as Dean of the American University of Beirut School of Medicine in the mid-to-late 1970s. Dr. Asper believed that the Hopkins-trained physicians who are dedicated to fostering excellent medical care and education in a foreign country are continuing the outreach effort of Dr. William Osler, who travelled to China to assist in establishing Peking Medical Union College, and deserve recognition for their efforts. The Asper Award is presented once every two years during the Biennial Meeting of The Johns Hopkins Medical & Surgical Association to a member of the Association who has had a significant impact on the health and education of those in foreign countries.